Gigabit Networks Lunch Event & Free Webcast To Be Held Friday

SALT LAKE CITY - The Utah Breakfast Club, in collaboration with the Broadband Breakfast Club of Washington, D.C., will hold a special luncheon event on gigabit networks in Utah on Friday, April 24, 2015.

The luncheon event will take place at the Utah State Capitol, in the regular location of the monthly Utah Breakfast Club. This event will also be viewable as a FREE LIVE WEBCAST beginning at 2 p.m. ET/1 p.m. CT/Noon MT/11 a.m. PT.

"Google's decision to bring fiber to Salt Lake City adds the the strong base of fiber optic deployment with Utah," said Drew Clark, founder of the Utah Breakfast Club and the Broadband Breakfast Club. "With cities and states across the country now seeking to build gigabit networks, this discussion about GigUtah will be of great interest throughout the nation."

The panel discussion and FREE LIVE WEBCAST will explore these topics:

Google has captivated the enthusiasm of internet users -- and the attention of economic development professionals -- by offering Gigabit Network service in selected cities across the country.

With Google Fiber in Provo and now Salt Lake -- and with gigabit networks available in the 11 cities served by the Utah Telecommunications Open Infrastructure Agency, or UTOPIA -- Utah is poised to be the first state where a substantial portion of its residents have access to the fastest-possible broadband internet services.

What does Google's investments say about the economic health and technology-savvy nature of Utah? What do cities and citizens get from Google Fiber that they haven't gotten from traditional telecom companies? And, for cities and states seeking to get a Gig, what are the best options to build and enhance Gigabit Networks?

CONFIRMED Panelists:

Devin Baer, Head of Fiber Business, Salt Lake, Google
Paul Cutler, Mayor, City of Centerville, Utah
Justin Jones, Vice President, Public Policy and Communications, Salt Lake Chamber
David Shaw, Shareholder, Kirton McConkie; Chair, Government and Utilities Practice Group
Nole Walkingshaw, Manager, Institutional Engagement, Salt Lake City
Moderated by Drew Clark, Of Counsel, Kirton McConkie; Founder, Utah Breakfast Club

The "GigUtah" LUNCHEON event and webcast are sponsored by BroadbandBreakfast.com. Those who seek to attend in person may register to attend this interactive discussion. Members of the Utah Breakfast Club pay $15, plus registration fee. Nonmembers pay $25, plus registration fee. (Individuals may obtain a NO CHARGE three month trial membership of the Utah Breakfast Club.) Lunch will be served at the Utah State Capitol beginning at 11:30 a.m. MT, with the program and webcast beginning promptly at 2 p.m. ET/Noon MT.

Comments

Read what others have to say, and share your own thoughts with the community.

2000 characters remaining
Advertisement

© 2021 Broadband Properties, LLC

Privacy Policy

Web Design and Web Development by Buildable